Success!

In the words a favorite musician, “There will be droughts & days inundated”…but I’ve got nights like this to keep me going. My son had a great time at Homecoming. He went to dinner (we sat across the room with another set of parents who chose to stay at the restaurant since they were carting a group to the dance), danced (with a group? kids these days…), and came home with a balloon after one hour(like it was a trip to Cookie Cutters).

Let’s see…I spent about 14 hours as his personal stylist to make sure he was appropriately dressed (not to mention the twelve years – and thousands of dollars – carting him to various professionals to help him acquire the skills. I hope I age gracefully, because my extreme makeover money is long gone!) I went through about 12 diet cokes (my drug of choice) trying to keep a caffeine buzz going in case I had to stay up all night consoling him. All the sacrifices were worth it! I’d do it again in a heartbeat. I’m so proud of him!!

-the cheese will try to exfoliate regularly (or is that how you get grated cheese?)

One response to “Success!

  1. Congratulations!! There should be a trophy for us moms at times like this! Maybe a big gold cup filled with champagne. And for all the moments when it doesn’t go quite as well, but we’ve still put all the hard work in, the most appropriate consolation prize would be a flask of JD – not as extravagant, but easier to sneak into IEPs.

Leave a Reply

